IEEE Honors Ceremony
Celebration of Engineering Disciplines

The Awards presented are an expression of recognition for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the theory and practice of electrical, electronics, communications, environmental and safety technologies, computer science and engineering, engineering education, as well as the allied branches of engineering and the related arts and sciences and technologies and their application.

The presentation of the 2020 Medal and Recognition recipients at the Honors Ceremony will take place on 15 May at 6:00 pm Pacific Time – the evening festivities at the IEEE Vision, Innovation, and Challenges Summit. View the Honors Ceremony live stream via

View a complete list of our prestigious sponsors of all our medals and awards.

View the 2020 IEEE Medals and Recognition Recipients with their citations (PDF, 170 KB)


List of 2020 IEEE Medals and Recognitions Recipients:
Sponsored by the IEEE Foundation
IEEE Medal of Honor – Chenming Hu 

Sponsored by Nokia Bell Labs
IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal – Rajiv Laroia

Sponsored by Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
IEEE Edison Medal – Frede Blaabjerg

Sponsored by Toyota Motor Corp.
IEEE Medal for Environmental and Safety Technologies – Nancy Leveson

Sponsored by the IEEE Foundation
IEEE Founders Medal – Jen-Hsun Huang

Sponsored by Qualcomm, Inc.
IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal – Cynthia Dwork

Sponsored by the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society
IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology – Mark S. Humayun

Sponsored by Texas Instruments, Inc.
IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal – Ramalingam Chellappa

Sponsored by MathWorks, Pearson, and the IEEE Life Members Fund
IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal – Leah Jamieson

Sponsored by The Federation of Electric Power Companies, Japan
IEEE Jun-ichi Nishizawa Medal – Paul Daniel Dapkus

Sponsored by Intel Foundation
IEEE Robert N. Noyce Medal –Susumu Kohyama

Sponsored by Raytheon Company
IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technolgoies and Applications – Joseph R. Guerci

Sponsored by the IEEE Industry Applications, Industrial Electronics, Power Electronics, and Power & Energy Societies
IEEE Medal in Power Engineering – Rik W. De Doncker

Sponsored by Northrop Grumman Corporation
IEEE Simon Ramo Medal – Byrana N. Suresh and K. Sivan

Sponsored by IBM Corporation
IEEE John von Neumann Medal – Michael I. Jordan

Sponsored by IEEE
IEEE Corporate Innovation Award – Apple, Inc.

Sponsored by the IEEE Technical Activities Board
IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award – John Vig

Sponsored by the IEEE Foundation
IEEE Haraden Pratt Award –Mary Ellen Randall

Sponsored by IEEE
IEEE Honorary Membership – Borys Paton

Sponsored by IEEE Young Professionals, Photonics Society, Power & Energy Society
IEEE Theodore W. Hissey Outstanding Young Professional Award – Sampathkumar Veeraraghavan

2020 IEEE Spectrum Technology in the Service of Society Award is presented to the company voted by IEEE Spectrum editors as the technology having the greatest potential to provide the most overall benefit to humankind.
Awarded to: Philips “for its Lumify portable ultrasound system”
Sponsored by IEEE Spectrum | Video on the Lumify ultrasound system
Philips Website 

2020 IEEE Spectrum Emerging Technology Award is presented to the company voted by IEEE Spectrum editors as the emerging technology having the greatest potential to achieve financial success in broad commercial application.
Awarded to: Cerebras Systems “for its Wafer-Scale Engine”
Sponsored by IEEE Spectrum | Video on the Wafer-Scale Engine
Cerebras Systems Website