2017 Program


The 2018 IEEE VIC Summit program has not yet been announced. Please check back for program information. The 2017 program is posted below for a reference.


8:00 AM      Registration Opens (Breakfast in the Ralston Room)

9:30 AM      Welcome to the Summit (Gold Ballroom)

Welcome from IEEE President Karen Bartleson
Introductions by “Masters of Ceremonies” for the day, Brian David Johnson (ASU) and Monique Morrow (Formerly, Cisco)

9:45 AM      Keynote: Engineering the 21st Century (Gold Ballroom)

James D. Plummer, Former Dean of Engineering, Stanford

10:30 AM   Energy & Powering the Planet (Gold Ballroom)

                           Wanda Reder, Chief Strategy Officer, S&C Electric Company

11:00 AM    Break

11:15 AM   Healthcare Innovation – Vision into the Future (Gold Ballroom)

                           Sarah Audet, Director, Technology Planning, Medtronic

11:45 AM    Pioneering the Autonomous Driving Space (Gold Ballroom)

                    Alberto Broggi, University of Parma

12:15 PM    Luncheon & Networking (Ralston Room)

Mixer with panelists, speakers, recipients, and attendees

 1:30 PM      Panel Discussion on Entrepreneurship: Innovating & Challenges (Gold Ballroom)

Mario Milicevic, Moderator

Kurt Petersen, Band of Angels

Samantha Snabes, Founder, Gigabot

Craig Barratt, CEO, Barefoot Networks

Ana Baltodano, Founder & CEO of Visualyst

3:00 PM     Break

3:15 PM    The Evolution of Secure Things (Gold Ballroom)
                    Alex Gantman, Vice President of Engineering for Qualcomm Tech., Inc.

3:45 PM     Impact on Society: Systems Engineer to Systems Entrepreneur 

                           for Global Change (Gold Ballroom)

                           Erna Grasz, Asante Africa Foundation

4:15 PM      A Century of Innovation (Gold Ballroom)
                    Thomas Lee, Professor, Electrical Engineering, Stanford University

4:45 PM      Closing Remarks

5:00 PM      Networking & Red Carpet Reception 

5:30 PM      Honors Ceremony Doors Open (Grand Ballroom)

6:00 PM      Honors Ceremony Gala & Dinner (Grand Ballroom)